Photo Friday: Daffodils and Wordsworth

April 23, 2010 § 2 Comments

I found these ‘sprightly’ figures outside the food co-op in Bozeman yesterday. Aren’t they beautiful? And they’re the perfect trumpets to announce the arrival of spring. While living in England the seemingly overnight emergence of daffodils in spring was one of my favorite parts. I loved how the green hillsides and small parks that once stood empty suddenly became home to perfect little yellow and white suns. These were Wordsworth’s daffodils. I was seeing them with my own eyes, and I now fully grasped why Wordsworth had to pen his famous poem. The daffodils really left him with no choice. Someone had to record their magic in as tangible means as possible. I liked the poem just fine when I read it in school, and then I actually saw his daffodils. Well, that changed things a bit. Pay special attention to the last stanza, someday when I’m old and gray I will be sitting on my sofa surrounded by my multitude of cats (yes, I’m going to be that lady) and I will think of the daffodils and my heart will fill with pleasure and dance.

“Daffodils” by William Wordsworth

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced, but they
Out-did the sparkling leaves in glee;
A poet could not be but gay,
In such a jocund company!
I gazed—and gazed—but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

For more photo Friday check out DeliciousBaby.com.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Photo Friday: Daffodils and Wordsworth

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Photo Friday: Daffodils and Wordsworth at Life Under Lone Peak.

meta

