My First Wedding

August 8, 2010 § 1 Comment

And I don’t mean my first wedding as a bride. Tomorrow is my first wedding as the photographer and I hope that it is one of many to come, in fact I hope it is one of hundreds I will photograph. Didn’t I tell you? I finally, finally decided on one thing to really go after. It’s photography. That is going to be my thing. More and more each day confirms this decision. Take yesterday for instance, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed by all that I had to do–the list is pretty damn daunting–and with a few free minutes at work I grabbed my camera and took a few photos and a wave of calm settled over me instantly. I thought, this is it, this is what I should be doing. I belong behind the camera.

It was about six months ago, that I decided to spend the next year and a half before I attend graduate school (in English) focusing on my dream of becoming a photographer. It was a duh moment, like of course I need to pursue this, what else could I do? I was in a bar with friends, maybe it was the wine, maybe the conversation, I’m not sure but the idea was planted in my head and never left. I woke up the next day with the same feeling of resolution.

At first, I wasn’t quite sure what this meant. How do I pursue photography? School? I decided the price tag was too high considering there is no guarantee of a job. Debt and no job aren’t appealing presently. I settled on going the grass roots way and decided to take a lot of pictures, all the time, having my camera be attached to my hand.

Really though, I finalized the decision to pursue my dream because three people helped me find a tangible path, a way of actually achieving what I want. And now suddenly I see a lot of doors where there were just walls, and if not doors at least some windows I know I can climb through. I’m resourceful and scrappy innately, but I needed a little opportunity to get me going, to help me believe I could accomplish that.

Sometimes, in life we just get lucky or the stars align for us or maybe if you want something enough the method begins to materialize, whatever it is I’m grateful. I’m grateful to have left what seemed to be an interminable limbo, and actually wholeheartedly be chasing after something.

I’m so nervous about tomorrow, I can barely type, read, sleep, think, text. My first paid photo gig. Some of you may scoff at it being a wedding gig. But I love modern wedding photography. Look at this at tell me he’s not an artist with his camera, or this. Besides, I love weddings, they’re an important day in a person’s life, I’m lucky to be tasked with the job of preserving those memories in print for them.

Please all, wish me luck!

§ One Response to My First Wedding

  • andrea says:

    You don’t need luck Tori, you just said you were scrappy. You will do wonderful. I mentioned this to Melanie this morning and she wants to see the pictures when you get a free moment and you actually have them. I know you will be great.!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My First Wedding at Life Under Lone Peak.

meta

